A Year After Wisconsin Drivers Got a Reprieve

In April 2011, the Wisconsin State Senate passed a law to lower the high standards it held regarding insurance coverage. Every state has their own rules and regulations regarding the minimum levels of auto insurance coverage a licensed driver needs to carry. Usually these laws mandate bodily injury coverage as well as property damage coverage, though in some states, PIP or personal injury protection is mandatory instead.

Wisconsin’s liability limits post-2009 have been 50/100/15. What this means in English, is that they need to carry bodily injury liability limits in the amounts of $50,000 per injured person to a maximum of $100,000 per accident. The 15 means $15,000 of property damage liability.
Continue reading