Study Shows New Jersey Penalties for Uninsured Driving Are Strictest has conducted a study regarding uninsured drivers and the penalties they face around the country. The verdict? Drivers caught driving uninsured in New Jersey face the steepest fees and the biggest penalties. On the opposite side of the spectrum, Idaho has been found to be the state with the most lenient legislation in place regarding this kind of offense. All other states fall into some middle ground between the two.

Uninsured driving is not only irresponsible, but it is against the law. It is one of several factors ramping up auto insurance premiums for the rest of the driver pool. In an ideal world, no one would have accidents. Unfortunately, accidents happen. This is where insurance comes in. If a person doesn’t have insurance and they are at fault in an accident, the injured party is denied compensation.

Driving uninsured has even prompted the creation of Uninsured Motorist coverage. It is additional, optional coverage that insulates a driver, as the name suggests, in the event that the other driver has no insurance. If everyone followed the law, this form of coverage wouldn’t be necessary, and would result in immediate savings for many who have it in their policy.

New Jersey, Idaho, and Company

According to, “States in the U.S. levy fines against violators that commonly cost several hundred dollars and penalize those violators by suspending their license for a few months.
First-time violators in New Jersey, however, face fines ranging between $300 and $1,000, and the additional penalties are especially severe: a one-year suspension of driving privileges and a community service requirement.”

The study further states that repeat offenders can be fined up to a whopping $5,000 penalty complete with two weeks of jail time and license suspension for up to 2 years. It is a volatile cocktail of penalties that is sure to dissuade any sane person from driving uninsured.

After those two years are up, it is time for license reinstatement. However, it’s not that easy. If the Department of Motor Vehicles determines that a driver is likely to violate the law again, it is possible that they can deny the reinstatement of a license even after the 2-year period.

To contrast, driving uninsured in Idaho results in only a $75.00 fine, and the state does not suspend a driver’s license. Onlineautoinsurance states, “29 states in the U.S. require some form of suspension for the offense.”

The issue of uninsured drivers has become so prevalent, that states are looking to implement insurance verification databases. They all have their ways of conducting business, but the goal is the same: reduce the number of uninsured drivers on the streets. In Maryland, for example, will now require insurers to report policy information by way of their database in October. Louisiana is bringing back a law that allows law enforcement officers to tow first-time offenders cars.

Now is a good time to familiarize yourself with your state’s auto insurance regulations.

Looking to find cheap auto insurance? Just answer a few questions below, and get quotes from competing insurance carriers in your area!

Get FREE Auto Insurance Quotes

Step 1: Enter your age:
Step 2: Choose your gender:
Step 3: Select your State: